Guillaume Schönau is a member of the American Federation of Violin and Bow Makers (AFVBM) and the Violin Society of America (VSA).

He studied restoration of old instruments at West Dean College, England during a professional development course offered by BVMA (British Violin Making Association), under the direction of J & A Beare Workshop. Luthiers from around the world, who desired learning the techniques developed by specialists in the restoration of old instruments, attended this training. Guy Rabut Christine Marmy, Jean-Jacques Fasnacht, Mark Robinson, Derek Wilson and Tim Baker led the workshop.

In summer 2008, he worked in Cremona, Italy, with master Luthier Borja Bernabeu. The high quality of Mr. Bernabeu’s work and his deep knowledge of manufacturing techniques used by the Cremona violin makers have significantly altered G. Schönau’s future instruments.

Guillaume Schönau graduated from collège des métiers d’art de Québec. At the end of his studies, he received a scholarship offered by the CFCMA, allowing him to deepen his research on oil varnish. He worked with Simon Bruneau for some years. He then made a cello before working with Richard Compartino’s violin workshop.

In 2004 he founded, with Joel Tardif, Luthiers Schönau & Tardif inc. Workshop, Located at 838 Rue St-Joachim, in Quebec City.

Guillaume Schönau est membre de l’American Federation of Violin and Bow Makers (AFVBM) et de la Violin Society of America (VSA).

Depuis 2004, il fabrique des violons, altos et violoncelles. 

Récemment, il a oeuvré en collaboration avec le CCQ (Centre de Conservation du Québec) à la restauration d'instruments historiques de la collection du musée de la civilisation. 

Il a étudié la restauration des instruments anciens au West Dean College, en Angleterre à l’occasion d’un stage de perfectionnement professionnel offert par la BVMA (British Violin Making Association), sous la direction de l’atelier J&A Beare. Cette formation a réuni des luthiers venus de partout dans le monde pour acquérir les techniques mises au point par des spécialistes de la restauration d’instruments anciens. L’atelier était mené par Guy Rabut, Christine Marmy, Jean-Jacques Fasnacht, Mark Robinson, Derek Wilson et Tim Baker.

À l’été 2008, il a travaillé à Crémone, en Italie, avec le maître luthier Borja Bernabeu. La grande qualité du  travail de M. Bernabeu et sa profonde connaissance des techniques de fabrication utilisées par les luthiers de Crémone ont modifié de façon significative les futurs instruments de G. Schönau.

Guillaume Schönau est diplômé du collège des métiers d’art de Québec. Il a obtenu au terme de ses études une bourse d’excellence offerte par le CFCMA,  lui  permettant d’approfondir ses recherches sur le vernis à l’huile. Il a travaillé en collaboration avec Simon Bruneau durant quelques années. Il a travaillé à l’Atelier Richard Compartino, où il a appris le métier d'archetier. 

En 2004, il a fondé avec Joël Tardif l’atelier Schönau & Tardif Luthiers inc., situé au 838, rue St-Joachim, Québec.